starting strength gym

Thread: Trainee with myeloma

Default Trainee with myeloma

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Dear Coach,

A lady I've been coaching for a few months has been diagnosed with myeloma. As is typical, her doctor was horrified to hear she was squatting and deadlifting more then her bodyweight. The doctor, again as is typical, recommended she lift nothing heavier then 10 lbs. The doctor's concern seems to be that heavy weights could compress the spine, cause a sudden fracture and release the cancerous plasma cells in her marrow causing the cancer to spread.

I've reassured my trainee that barbell training, properly done, will not cause her bones to fracture. That on the contrary, they will make her bones more resistant to fracture. Moreover, I've told her that making her bones stronger will buy her more time to have one of the many medical interventions work. Certainly more time then she would have if she allowed herself to get weak lifting 10lbs or less.

Is there anything else, from your considerable experience, that you would recommend I share with my trainee so as to encourage her to stay the course of building strength in the face of this disheartening diagnosis?

Best always,

Francisco

Quote Originally Posted by donfrancisco View Post
    Dear Coach,

A lady I've been coaching for a few months has been diagnosed with myeloma. As is typical, her doctor was horrified to hear she was squatting and deadlifting more then her bodyweight. The doctor, again as is typical, recommended she lift nothing heavier then 10 lbs. The doctor's concern seems to be that heavy weights could compress the spine, cause a sudden fracture and release the cancerous plasma cells in her marrow causing the cancer to spread.