starting strength gym

Thread: Deadlift reset, again?

Question Deadlift reset, again?

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hi all

29, male, 5'11", 84kg (up from 62kg at start of year)

I started training with 40kg and added 5kg each deadlift workout until I reached, probably with poor form, 125kg where I could only lift 1 rep (120kg was very hard but I made all 5 reps).

I then took ~2 months off following an adductor tear (squat was at 87.5kg when I took the break) and deloaded everything significantly as I read, re-read and re-read the book to make sure my form for all lifts was correct.

At the second go I reached 115kg and called technical failure as I was not able to maintain lumbar extension, did a mini reset and added 2.5kg per workout. I've since mini reset three times now at 125kg for the same reason, I can't maintain lumbar extension for the whole set.

During this time my squat has increased to 110kg. I am micro loading bench and press and they continue to increase, 60kg and 40kg respectively.

Do you have any advice on how to proceed? Must I maintain a strict flat back for all reps or do I accept that there will be some form breakdown since I'm working at or very close to my 5rm?

Thanks in advance
    Yas

Form breakdown aree never acceptable. When you are pushing your limits there will be some form breakdown most likely but the goal is solid reps each time.

Quote Originally Posted by Eric Larousse View Post
    Form breakdown aree never acceptable. When you are pushing your limits there will be some form breakdown most likely but the goal is solid reps each time.