starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Young oly lifter looking for advice.

Default Young oly lifter looking for advice.

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    So here's my dilemma that strongly correlates to "is olympic weightlifting strength training?"

I've been training oly for the past 3 months now. I know it's not much at all, but hear me out. My PRs are 90 CJ and 70 SN at the moment (BW 80kg). However the past two weeks I've been rather frustrated and have come to a big conclusion:

I'm weak as fuck. Especially compared to when I was strength training.

I have a great coach and I'm making great improvements with my technique. However my coach's first language is not English so it's hard to get him to explain things. Our programming is very typical. We only snatch, clean and jerk, squat, and all the variations (snatch pull, front squat, jerk behind the neck from rack, etc), along with weighted back extensions and good mornings. These exercises are all great and I can see a use for all of them, but it still feels like something's missing.

Inquiring about deadlifting to help strengthen all the movements gets me nowhere. The coach and most others at the gym have the typical view that since deadlifts are pulled slowly, they will not help your cleans and may actually hurt your progress. I combat this with "only maximal deadlifts are slow - maximal squats are also slow, and we still do those." It goes nowhere, it just seems almost like tradition that oly lifters don't deadlift. And I don't know why.

I did SS in the past and in 3 months of that, I could powerclean, uncoached, what I can full clean now. For 5x3. Uncoached. With iron plates. I got my deadlift up to 375x5, but now that I haven't been strength training, 90kg feels heavier than it should off the floor.