starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: reflux / gerd / apnea problems anyone?

Default reflux / gerd / apnea problems anyone?

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hi all,

Last night i woke up and couldnt breathe. I had to jump out of bed and cough harshly for 10 seconds or so. Some flem/bile came out and it burned my throat. Believe this to be an acid reflux problem. I have had it before but only since i started lifting.

Often at night i feel my throat burning in the region of my larynx / back of throat.

Ive read up and this is almost certainly some form of reflux. My concern is that it is caused or made worse by lifting and i want to see if anyone else gets this. I only seem to get the choking episodes after a gym session, and it had also stopped during november when i hardly lifted at all due to colds.

Ive also read that increased abdominal pressure can cause a hiatal hernia whereby some of the stomach gets pushed through the diaphragm.

Ive booked in to see a doctor and in the meantime will be getting some antacids, but its the correlation with lifting and the potential hernia which most concerns me currently.

Anyone have any experience?

Do a little research. The antacids might not be helpful. In fact, you might find you need to take Betaine HCL with meals (yep, hydrochloric acid).

Jordan has a link up somewhere.

Ah, this is it:

http://chriskresser.com/what-everybo...heartburn-gerd
    Last edited by ColoWayno; 12-17-2014 at 11:18 AM. Reason: Add link

Quote Originally Posted by danlightbulb View Post
    Anyone have any experience?