starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stalling on TX Method - advice please

Default Stalling on TX Method - advice please

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I'm fairly new to powerlifting and love it. I've learned a lot from Starting Strength - the 2 books I bought are heavily worn in a short period. I'm 40 y.o., 5' 10", 190lbs. I've lifted on and off since my late teens, but never committed to a program and was totally unfamiliar with powerlifting (never really squatted or deadlifted regularly). It all changed last June when I was trying to find an efficient workout online (I have 4 kids!). Since then I have dedicated myself to powerlifting (very consistent 3x week).

I started with a 5x5 model with no accessories. I moved my squat from 155 (5x5) to 270 (5x5) in 4 months. Since then I've moved my squat up to 330 (1x5) using the TX Method. I did a stint of something called Mad Cow in between but didn't like it.

From June 2014 to March 2015 (now almost 9 months), I've made the following gains:
    body weight 175 to 190
    squat 155 (5x5) to 330 (1x5)
    bench 155 (5x5) to 235 (1x5)
    dead 185 (1x5) to 385 (1x5)

My problem is: I am stalling on the squat and the bench. Squats are getting really ugly on my intensity day (mostly pitching forward, stuck just out of the hole). I am missing the fourth and fifth rep. I can grind out a rep when I get stuck but it's all lower back (yikes). Volume day is 85% of the 5RM that week and it is a hard workout but I get through it (my most recent volume day squat was 290 5x5). The deadlift comes relatively easy and I can see it increasing for at least a few more weeks.