starting strength gym

Thread: Heart Failure and Starting Strength/Barbell Prescriptionkinda-

Default Heart Failure and Starting Strength/Barbell Prescriptionkinda-

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hello all. I'm posting hoping to get a response from any of the other MD/DOs, or anyone else who has experience working with people diagnosed with heart failure. A little background: I'm posting about my father, age 57.5, who used to be an amateur power lifter from about age 17 to 30, but quit due to us ingrate kids and work. The only number I remember him talking about was benching 425lbs at a weight of around 200-210lbs. I'm an emergency medicine physician about to graduate residency, so know something about acute processes but am out of my depth on long-term care.

My dad was diagnosed with atrial fibrillation back on the the 9th of this month, and his ECHO that day showed LVEF ~30% and the perfusion/stress showed diminished perfusion to the inferior heart wall. We had a wedding that weekend, so my dad's cardiologist and I opted for outpatient rate control with carvedilol and amiodarone, but his symptoms continued to worsen, and he was admitted 3/12. They diuresed about 8lbs off him and did a heart cath, which showed 80% stenosis to the LAD and LVEF 25%, a drug-eluting stent was placed with near complete reperfusion. He converted out of a-fib into sinus at that time but brady'd down and got hypotensive, but came out after a few minutes, and has since been feeling mostly better. Still on Coreg and amiodarone, and currently in the process of getting evaluated for "cardiac rehab" at a decent local healthplex.