starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: combining strength lifts and olympic lifts

Default combining strength lifts and olympic lifts

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    any one want to through their 2 cents in?

I just joined an olympic lifting club/team in baltimore. I have no experience with the OL's but they are a great group and the coach's seem awsome. They got me up to a 90kg C&J and a 80kg Snatch my first training day.

There advice is to Squat, snatch and C&J every day, drop DL drop Pressing and Drop pritty much everything else. Well that's just not gonna work for me right now. I have no desire to compete right now, I just want to learn how to do the competition lifts and eventually incorporate them into my regular program. Basically get stronger in the DL, Press, Chin-up, Dip, Squat, C&J and Snatch.

My thoughts are:
    1. I need to practice the OL alot to get the motor patterns down. As many singles and doubles as i can do in a week.
    2. the club meets for coaching on saturdays, so saturdays are locked in every week as one of my OL training days
    3. I never built up a good work capacity, so initially doing more than four workouts a week would probably burn me out, which means 2 OL days and 1 or 2 Strength lift days
    4. I want to be well rested for saturdays as i'll be working up in weight on saturdays to try and get a new pr

with that in mind:
    Su: off
    Mon: Snatch & C&J @ 70 - 85% of saturdays max for singles or doubles, Back Squat w/ 5/3/1 protocal
    Tues: off
    *Wen: Deadlift, Press, Chin-up following 5/3/1 protocals (it's what i'm familiar with)
    Thu: off
    Friday: off
    Sat: Practice with the team Snatch & C&J work up to new max, front squat at 110% of max clean