starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Nearing End of Linear Progression - 20 rep?

Post Nearing End of Linear Progression - 20 rep?

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hi everybody!
    I've been doing starting strength for about 5 months now, and feel as if I am nearing the end of linear progression. Making obvious adjustments (longer rest intervals , more food, mixed grip deadlifts etc) will probably allow me to continue running the program as is for a couple more weeks.

I started out doing Stronglifts 5x5 initially for a few weeks, had already made some progress on Barbell Rows, and therefore continued to do them on SS rather than Powercleans. Also, I plan to switch to olympic lifting eventually, atleast for a few months, and figured i would learn cleaning then anyway. (Side query: does anyone have an opinion on "Strong as an Ox" olympic weightlifting program?")

Here are my current stats:
    Height: 5 Feet, 10.5 inches
    Weight: 95kg = 209 pounds (increased by 12 kg = 26.4 lbs on the program, put on significant fat too)
    Squat: 125kg = 275 pounds
    Deadlift: 137kg = 300 pounds
    Press: 43kg = 94.6 pounds (significant layback, hard to maintain form)
    Bench Press: 51kg = 112.2 pounds (Not nearly tired with this yet, could easily reach 180 or so i feel, on Linear progression)
    Rows: 51kkg = 112.2 pounds

As you can see, my presses are weak, my bench could probably improve greatly while staying on the program, but i feel im nearing the end of my progression with Squats, and just yesterday, failed to even move the bar off the floor in Deadlifts at 141kg or 310 pounds...Im sure i can make smaller jumps for a while, but I need to start thinking about what to do after SS.

I was thinking of running a 20 rep squat cycle as follows:

Workout A
    1x20 Squat
    1x20 Pullovers
    3x10 Bench
    1x20 Pullovers
    3x10 Rows

Workout B
    1x20 Squat
    1x20 Pullovers