starting strength gym

Thread: Struggling Trainer

Default Struggling Trainer

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Coach, I have been a personal trainer for about 2 years and if I have learned anything over that time its how little the average person knows about working out, myself included. I have read SS, PP, and watched the SS DVD the three of which has taught me 3 times what I learned from ISSA and NSCA together. (I actually got the NSCA cert because of your recommendations in PP and was very disappointed in the suggestion to talk to a Dr first and the suggestion to start people out walking. I understand why you resigned from the organization.) I realize I have a lot left to learn about the human body and working out in general but it seems the more I learn and know the less it benefits me. Every gym I go to if full of idiot trainers crammed on to Arthur Jone's monstrosities and some don't even have a simple barbell set. Its getting to the point where I hate to be associated with such wastes. I can't find a job that pays anything, most gyms are at best 50% of what you sell or you have to go out find your own clients and then pay for your own insurance. I love working out and learning as much as I can about crossfit, strength training, etc. but more and more it seems like all I do is fight against uneducated people promoting crunches and leg extensions. I really want to make a living actually training people in proper methods but it's getting harder and harder to do that. What suggestions do you have get on the right track and really begin to make a difference and a living as a trainer? your advise is much appreaciated SS and PP are two books I wish I had read when I was about 10 years old.