starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Starting Strength on a cut?

Question Starting Strength on a cut?

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    • starting strength seminar april 2025
    Hi,
    I've been running SS since late September of 2016 (for eight months). I was doing StrongLifts before that and bro splits before SL. I'm 5'11, 24 y.o, 82 kg (181 lbs). My most recent lifts are the following:
    • squat: 90 kg (~200 lbs) x 11 (on rehab because of injury, PR is 300 lbs x 5)
    • DL: 172.5 kg (380 lbs) x 2 (5 rep max is 375 lbs)
    • bench: 102.5 kg (~230 lbs) x 5 x 3 (5x3-max is 240 lbs)
    • press: 65 kg (145 lbs) x 5 x 3 (5x3-max is 150 lbs)

LP still works if I do resets.

At this point, I don't wanna keep gaining weight anymore. I want to burn some fat instead. I'm thinking of cutting 5-10 pounds and see how I feel about it. At the same time I still want to get stronger, or maintain my strength and improve my lifts. My question is does it make sense to do SS on a cut? I feel like I would not be doing the program unless I bulk up to 200+ pounds. I don't want to burn myself out, but I don't know what to do. What do you guys think of reverse pyramid training, the stuff that Martin Berkham advocated, which is a 3-day split routine? Will it be useful for someone like me?

Also, please keep in mind that I won't be able to train for a week or two next month because I'm going on vacation. So I can use SS to overreach until the vacation and change my program after I come back, if need be.

Thanks

How fast and easy was the progress so far? If you were srtuggling recently to add 5 or 2.5lbs to your lifts being on a surplus then expect to stall on a deficit.