starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Novice - Reset Vs Mircoload

Default Novice - Reset Vs Mircoload

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I am an underweight novice about 40 days into the program (5'11", 175lb, 39 yrs old, relatively low bodyfat). In general, I have been able to increase weight at 5lbs per workout for the squat and bench press and 10 for the deadlift.

However, I have noticed things getting much harder and can sense I won't be able to continue at this rate. Bar speed has been slowing the last few workouts on squat (185lb) and bench press (157lb). My deadlift (190 lb) was weak so it will continue for a bit on linear progression. My press has started to stall (90lb).

I would consider myself a difficult gainer. So as things start to stall, I am going to make the Wednesday squat a light squat day. But my question is should I do a reset when I start missing reps or should I just microload? My initial thought was 2.5lb on squat and bench press, 1lb on the press, 5-7.5lb on the deadlift. And then just continue that until I stall and then do a reset.

The other possibility is I'm not getting enough food since I have not increased bodyweight much in the last 40 days (sleep is good). But I do eat whenever hungry, try to eat as much as I can, and get plenty of protein and carbs. I may need more fats though. I am lactose intolerant so don't drink milk, but can drink muscle milk so should I just use that as a direct substitute? My one vice is diet Coke so maybe that is stifling my appetite as well?

GOMAD, son. Get your weight up.

That is fair and everything seems to point to lack of calories, which milk could address. But what are the options if you are lactose intolerant? Lactase pills, muscle milk, lactaid? Other foods?