starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 5"65' male - Should I get 4" or 3" belt?

Default 5"65' male - Should I get 4" or 3" belt?

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I'm considering getting my first belt after years of training without one(DL 2.5x body weight, squatting 2x body weight - both for 5 reps).

I'm a short male - 5"65'(172cm), and i'm not sure if I should get 3" or 4" belt(i'm getting it from bestbelts).
    Since I have no experience with a belt whatsoever, i'm not sure which one should I get. I plan to use it both on squat and DL.

Can anyone help me decide?

Thanks.

I am 5'6" and found the 4" Best belt to be a little uncomfortable for deadlifting so I got a 3" one just for deadlifting and bent over rowing. I use the 4" belt for squats,bench and press. I currently don't power clean but am thinking about finally getting into it and would probably use the 3" for them. I have never used the 3" for squats so I can't really tell you how it works for them but If you can't afford both I'm sure the 3" would be ok for squatting. probably not optimal but you are currently not using anything.

Quote Originally Posted by tcul1972 View Post
    I am 5'6" and found the 4" Best belt to be a little uncomfortable for deadlifting so I got a 3" one just for deadlifting and bent over rowing. I use the 4" belt for squats,bench and press. I currently don't power clean but am thinking about finally getting into it and would probably use the 3" for them. I have never used the 3" for squats so I can't really tell you how it works for them but If you can't afford both I'm sure the 3" would be ok for squatting. probably not optimal but you are currently not using anything.
    DItto for me.

I've squatted in my 3 inch and it feels fine, just not as much support as the 4 inch.