starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fixing this back angle shit

Default Fixing this back angle shit

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yTg-k9eBDek

This is my third set from tonight's squats (275/5x3). My back angle is all over the place. I'm also doing some silly shit at the top that I don't usually do, so ignore that. Should I be cueing myself with "big chest" to keep my hips from shooting up faster than my shoulders? Thanks.

5'9" 200lbs btw.

Your back angle looks okay to me. You're going quite a bit deeper than you need to.

In the last two reps my hips seem to come up too fast and my back angle decreases (becomes closer to parallel). First two I think I maintain the back angle OK. Might try some different camera angles tomorrow.

Im no expert by far but I watch alot of vids and work hard on form. Your back angle looks good and the bar path on 1,3,4,5 was real good. on 2 you went a bit forward but it still looked good.

Agree.. Looks good to me, do you feel like your back is getting loose? Try cuttin off the depth a little and see how it feels

Chest up! Chest up!

Quote Originally Posted by 30French View Post
    In the last two reps my hips seem to come up too fast and my back angle decreases (becomes closer to parallel). First two I think I maintain the back angle OK. Might try some different camera angles tomorrow.
    I see what you mean. As someone pointed out above, you're getting a little too deep, fix that first. Think Up! Up! Up! all the way down to the bottom, this tightens the hamstrings, which is what you are bouncing off of.