starting strength gym

Thread: Help me program dips into T Method

Default Help me program dips into T Method

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    • starting strength seminar april 2025
    Hi,
    Did SS, then T method...started out too high on weights and burned out. I have been giving 3X3 a shot for 2 months and now am ready to take another swipe at TX method.

I will use the standard template below

http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_...e_texas_method

Here is my dilemma: I really like dips and dont want to give them up. Dips are not part of the template. At firtst, I wanted to drop bench all together and sub weighted dips, but I decided to keep the bench. Where does that leave dips? My thoughts:

1) On volume bench day, do 3X5 bench and 2X10 dips
    2) On light bench day, just do 3 sets of dips and no bench
    3) Intensity day, add 2 sets of 15 body-weight for added volume

Your thoughts on my ideas, or better ideas?

The only other modification to the program will be to do 1 set of 10 curls on volume and 1 set of pull ups on intensity day and 2 sets of chins on recovery day instead of 3 sets.

Thanks

Dips are nothing but dips, dropping full bench from a program in place of a simple assistance exercise will end up hurting you in the long run.

Dips are no different then doing pull ups and chins. Its something you can hit at the end of your workouts and with a high rate of frequency. Basically what I'm saying is 2-4 sets of 8-12 reps of dips per training day is not going to kill you. Like everything else just do it and you will figure out what is effective or what is not. At that point you can start manipulating to some degree.

Quote Originally Posted by OZ-USF-UFGator View Post
    started out too high on weights and burned out.
    Unrelated to your question, I know, but I see this quite often, so what do you mean by "burned out" in your case?

1 set of 10 curls