starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shoes: what brand, where to buy, what to look for?

Default Shoes: what brand, where to buy, what to look for?

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hi all,

Noob here.

1) I was wondering if any of you know of any major shoe store chains that carry decent weightlifting shoes? I've called a few and haven't had any luck. I'm a tad nervous about ordering shoes online, since I wouldn't be able to try them on first. Am I stuck going online?

2) Main main focus will be squatting and deads. My goal is strength and size. Any recommendations of a brand or, if not a brand and type, a specific thing my shoe (whatever brand or type) must have, e.g., specific dimensions, structure, etc.?

I'm a noob, so I'd prefer to keep it under or not much over $100.00.

Finding a retail store that carries specialized shoes like that will be difficult, unless you live in a pretty big city. There is one in my area, but it is the MDUSA scratch and dent room, not really a retail store. I'd say your best bet is finding an online store with good customer service and a solid return policy. Each brand can fit a little differently. I'd personally recommend Rogue Fitness, or - Eastbay actually carries a couple different weightlifting shoes now, and currently offer free shipping. For less than $100 your options will be limited. I've never tried the addidas powerlifts, but I know someone who has them and likes them. I think they go for like $89.

Where do you live? You don't have to be too specific, but are you in The US? Canada? Which general region? Someone may know a local place that has them.

Im a fan of these Allstars with the strap on top
    allstars.jpg

think i paid $40 bucks at Champs
    Last edited by Mdemarco; 07-26-2012 at 02:06 PM. Reason: add cost