starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Quite a Few Questions

Default Quite a Few Questions

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Well, I just attempted to post a huge question, and then somehow it got deleted, so this time I will try to condense it a little bit.

Lifts are as follows: all (3x5) except deadlift (1x5) and PC (5x3)
    Squat 300lbs
    Bench 207lbs
    Press 135lbs
    Deadlift 305lbs
    PC 115lbs
    Chins (3 sets of bodyweight to 8 reps)

I'm 21, ~193lbs, ~13-15%bf and I've been lifting for about 2 years, with only the past 6 months being devoted to SS.
    I've read SS and PPST, and I'm still struggling to understand a few concepts. Hopefully somebody can help me out a little bit or at least direct me towards some pages that can.

I can go further into detail on any of these questions if anybody would like/needs me to.

1) How do I know how much of an ancillary/accessory/assistance excercise to use? (Reps, sets, how often do I advance and by how much?) *Currently, I only do chins.

2) My deadlift has stalled. I didn't realize that I was supposed to be doing warm up sets (example: 135x5x2, 185x3, 225x2, working set). I've only been doing minimal warm ups (example: 135x5x2, working set). Should I reset to a lower intensity and start over while doing the warm ups, or should I just keep trying to add 5lbs to the bar every deadlift session, keep my weight, and forget all the warm up? Also, how many times do I reset the deadlift before moving on to intermediate programming-just once right?

3)I see that in PPST Texas Method, I'm supposed to be doing 5x5 on Monday... is this the very first time we are doing 5 sets of 5 reps, or am I supposed to move into that sometime earlier?