starting strength gym

Thread: Quadracep pain during warm up and after squats

Default Quadracep pain during warm up and after squats

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I've been doing SS for 3 months now and have pain in my quadriceps where they attach to the pelvis. If you strike the pose where your thumbs are stuck in your front belt loops and your hands frame your groin, the area under the hands is almost exactly where the pain is.

It is the worst during warmup. The first few reps with just the bar are pretty bad. The more weight (or perhaps the more reps), the less pain and they pretty much don't hurt at all when I'm lifting the working set.

Then they usually start hurting a little a few hours after the workout.

I've posted elsewhere and been told that it must be my form. I have de-loaded, posted some form check videos and am pretty sure that my form is decent.

This is really taking a lot of the fun out of squats. Any advice that could help fix this would be much appreciated.

Per posting guidelines:
    Sex: M
    Weight: 205lbs
    height: 6'5"
    Squat: 205 x 5
    Bench press 145 x 5
    Deadlift 265 x 5
    Press 100 x 5
    Power clean 115 x 5
    Chinups 8

I began SS on February 2014, previously untrained with no serious lifting experience and no real athletic experience.

No special diet, I am aiming to gain weight.

My major goal is to engage in a sustainable activity that keeps my body fit for the next 20 years or longer.
    Last edited by mechtonia; 05-05-2014 at 12:27 PM.