starting strength gym

Thread: Fluffy math: Macros, bodygem, and swimming

Default Fluffy math: Macros, bodygem, and swimming

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Jordan,

Thank you for putting your time into these message boards, they are truly a great resource! I have a few questions pertaining to my situation that I couldn’t find any info on in the boards.
    First, here are my stats:

M, 28, 6’5”, 357LBS, BF~35%
    B: 405 DL: 450 S: 450

I’ve been doing SS off and on for a couple years and recently switched to 5/3/1. While I want to sustain strength gains I also desperately need to recomp to under 20% BF. Counting calories and macros over the past several days it is apparent that I am nowhere close to where I should be nutritionally. Currently I average about 3100 Kcal/ 180P/120C/130F daily. Needless to say, my strength gains are stalling and im not losing fat. With all that being said, here are my questions:

1. Is 4641/428/321/90 a good starting place for me? The “To Be A Beast” blog entry gives me a range up to 6069/481/464/124 but I’m not sure if those ratios level off after a certain BF%.

2. I would imagine that after years of undernutrition I will initially gain weight with the new diet until my body realizes that it is being fed properly. I’m not sure how long it will take to Un-eff my metabolism but would you recommened a bodygem or similar metabolic measurement test to calculate current metabolic rate and track it over time?

3. Are freestyle sprints in a pool (1 length sprint, 3:00 rest) adequate for HIIT?

Thank you for your time!

1. Is 4641/428/321/90 a good starting place for me? The “To Be A Beast” blog entry gives me a range up to 6069/481/464/124 but I’m not sure if those ratios level off after a certain BF%.
    No. I'd put you at like 300/300/75 (pro/carb/fat w/ 40g of fiber per day).