starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recovery Wisdom

Default Recovery Wisdom

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024

This sure seems to be me. I've been on the backoff method now for like four weeks and it seems to be working. I will want another four weeks to really tell but this less is more is great to understand but hard to do when you are used to pushing yourself most of your life.

Another thing I've found is that I now need a lot more sleep than before I started lifting again at 69 years young. Prior to my current workout regimen I used to get by pretty well with 5 - 6 hours of sleep; and as I get older, I find it difficult to get even a good solid 6 hours of sleep at night, what with waking up several times during the night due to that common problem of us older men - BPH. However after getting going with the PNP program, I now find that I need at least 8 hours of solid sleep, or else I feel like c--- for a couple of days after a hard workout.

So now I am taking a nap of anywhere from 1-1/2 to 2 hours each day, currently mid-to-late morning. That seems to be doing the trick. (I used to sometimes take a nap in the afternoon - my workouts are late evening - but morning naps seem to be working better.) With my current PNP routine I can now recover pretty well in 48 hours between workouts within a week's schedule, although I do often take 3 or 4 days off between "weeks" instead of only 2. I don't know if that 48 hour intra-week recovery period will hold as the workouts get more intense with heavier weights, even with the extra sleep, but I'm going to try to keep it going with that rhythm as long as I can.