starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Goals & help for a 240lbs novice

Default Goals & help for a 240lbs novice

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi guys,

I just have to place things into perspective and write down my game plan. I hope you guys can give me some feedback.

Stats:

-24yo M.
    -110 kg / 240lbs
    -183cm / 6ft
    -31% bf (according to the navy taper test)
    -a big 117cm gut / 46inch

Medical:

-low t
    -obesity related sleep apnea (doc says he expects my apnea to disappear If i get to 100kg)
    -depression

Goals:
    So obviously, I'm overweight. I breath heavy if I go up the stairs or walk too fast. I was very de-conditioned before I started training. Just squatting the bar was tiring, and still is unless I take a proper 5-7 min between sets. Here's my plan: do the SS Program until I reach a 5x 3 plate squat. After that I'll focus on losing the weight to 90-100kg to get rid of the apnea.

The How:
    If i get it correctly, at around 30% bf I'll have to focus on maintaining my weight and just train? And basically my body composition will change? So according to my calculations I will have to eat around 3,000 kcal. Does that sound about correct?

At your size, you should be able to make reasonable gains for quite some time but it depends on exactly how novice you are. What are your current training numbers?

Outside of rank novices, fat loss generally requires a deficit. While it isn't the standard Rx around here, I typically switch obese novices over to "advanced novice" programming pretty quickly once they've learned the lifts. I have them diet immediately. You'll always have a full LP run waiting for you when you're done dieting and can afford a surplus, but the cost/benefit of an obese person eating at or around a surplus is out of whack in my opinion.