starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Motorless Treadmill Walking by Andy Baker

Default Motorless Treadmill Walking by Andy Baker

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    • starting strength seminar april 2025
    Hello,

I recently read an article by Andy Baker where he recommends the practice of walking on a treadmill while its motor is turned off to simulate prowler work. I own a treadmill, tried it, and like it. My question has to do with programming. Andy recommends a 1 minute ON 1 minute OFF protocol for 10-15 minutes. If I wanted to do a 20 minute HIIT session twice a week using the motorless treadmill, would I do 10 minutes ON 10 minutes OFF (20 minutes elapsed) or 20 minutes ON 20 minutes OFF (40 minutes elapsed). I am a novice trainer using the SS novice program tailored for my age (59). I would like to add 1-2 sessions of HIIT work per week, but not too intense to curtail strength gains, so thinking of a 20 minute HIIT session. Thank you.

Brent Carter is offline Owner, Starting Strength Dallas
    Starting Strength Coach

If you can sustain the activity for more than 10 minutes it is by definition not high intensity.

I like 30s on 60s off for 10-15 rounds.

You can refer to this article for examples on HIIT protocols:

https://startingstrength.com/article...r_reynolds.pdf

As a side note our trainers have burnt up more than one treadmill by doing this so while effective it may very well shorten the lifespan of your treadmill...

Quote Originally Posted by Brent Carter View Post
    If you can sustain the activity for more than 10 minutes it is by definition not high intensity.

As a side note our trainers have burnt up more than one treadmill by doing this so while effective it may very well shorten the lifespan of your treadmill...