starting strength gym
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Fat loss ... squatting too much?

Default Fat loss ... squatting too much?

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    • starting strength seminar april 2025
    My primary goal is fat loss right now. I've been in a calorie deficit and I've been doing the SS routine for about 4 months now doing AxxBxxAxxx. My logic is that I'm trying to maintain as much lean body mass as possible while I perfect my form on the lifts. My plan is to cut to 10% and then do the program the way it is designed to be done (doing a 500-1000 calorie surplus). Before you say anything, NO I will not change my mind. I HAVE TO HIT THIS BF% before starting a surplus. Been a lifelong fatty. My question is, what should my routine look like? I'm thinking that squats 3 days a week is a bit too strenuous during a calorie deficit. My lifts have increased a little bit since I started but they're pretty much stalled out for now. Which is ok since I'm just trying to maintain my LBM. I guess my ultimate question is what should my routine be? What would preserve the most LBM, be the least strenuous for my CNS, prepare me for a proper bulk doing SS like it's designed and facilitate linear fat loss?
    Stats + Working sets.
    5'9"
    22-years-old
    170-172 lbs bodyweight (meso-endo)
    14-18% bodyfat (hard to tell cause of loose skin) (140-144 lbs LBM)
    Squats: 185-195 3x5
    Bench: 155-160 3x5
    OHP: 115 3x5
    DL: 225-235 1x5

I was thinking about doing squats twice a week, and maybe on the work out day I don't do squats do sprints or something, maybe pull ups or light deadlifts in a high rep range. Any ideas for me guys?

Btw my aim is a 500-700 kcal deficit
    I eat about 220 grams of protein a day and 45-60 grams of fat
    I'm gonna start counting carbs as well, according to the calculators I'm burning about ~2800 kcals a day with my activity level but who knows right ?