starting strength gym
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: High Bar -Low Bar Programming issues

Default High Bar -Low Bar Programming issues

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Im a 36 yr old trainee who had moderate success with the Novice routine- with the exception of my squat. The numbers are too embarrassing to post here, but most of my issues came from piss-poor flexibility with limited my depth in addition to causing rip-roaring biceps tendinitis which then forced me to constantly deload my squats.

Decided to see a strength coach (who attended SEVERAL Rippetoe Certs, BTW) who took a look at my anthrometry and shocking inflexibility and decided that high-bar squats, as opposed to low bar squats are a more realistic exercise for me. Now, obviously I've read the books, and the articles and realize the superiority of the low bar squat. This guy is no dummy; he is a coach who really is dedicated to Olympic lifting and active in the Crossfit community (perhaps there is his bias towards the high bar?).
    I've decided I will try the high bar squat, although depth is a major problem. I have a job where I sit in a chair all day long, sometime hours on end without even standing up, so my depth on squatting suffers due to hamstring and flexor immobility.

1. Have any of you had success using the high bar to train for better ROM, to be carried over the low bar eventually?
    2. I wonder how doing high bar squats will eventually improve my shoulder flexibility to allow for the low bar carry. Any thoughts?

Lastly, if I have yet to exhaust my linear progression on squats (a given) but am approaching 'intermediate' status on some of my other lifts, has anyone had experience creating a program that allows for linear progression in 1 area, and intermediate programming everywhere else (continuing on a novice for squats, intermediate for press/bench/deadlift)?