starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Low bar really hurting scalpula

Default Low bar really hurting scalpula

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    What's up Rip?

Quick background, I've been doing the program for 3 months and experienced a great deal of increase in both size and strength. My big 3 lifts have all at least doubled thus far and I've gained 35 lbs of functional size, so thanks a lot for the great routine.

Now for the issue,

My shoulder blade on my left arm is starting to become bothersome and a bit painful. If you squeeze your shoulder blades down and together, that's where it hurts, but onlyon the left side. None of the other exercises really even affect this part of my body, so i detected the problem as the heavy squat, cause after every work set I feel a slight pain there.

I iced it one night and when I had my two days off, my upper left back didn't feel as strong as my upper right side, but it didn't hurt at all. However, when I squatted yesterday it came right back. So I'm really trying to identify the source of th problem here.

I have the book, and perform the squat pretty much exactly how instructed. Should o switch to high bar? I don't want to have to resort to high bar because low bar feels much more comfortable for me except for this damned pain.

Also, I tried yesterday to hold the bar a bit higher than customary low bar to see if it was just that I was holding the bar too low and no go. It could be that I hurt my left side cause it feels significantly weaker on that side. I.e., when I throw a jabi feel the loss of power.

Thanks in advance

Scale of 1-10, how bad is it? One is no pain at all, 10 is burns over your entire body.

Well to be honest, it's not that painful at all. When I try to activate the pain myself it's around a 4, but sometimes I'm just doing something and it triggers a sharp pain that I'd rate a 6-7.