starting strength gym
Page 1 of 19 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: fleurmonstre's log (it's better than bad, it's good)

Default fleurmonstre's log (it's better than bad, it's good)

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello out there. Here begins my Starting Strength training log.

I'm a 30-year-old woman, 5'2", 123 lbs, and I've been lifting for six months. Thanks for the peeks, follows, comments, etc.!

- - - - -

My history:

On Jan. 12, 2012, I starting StrongLifts 5x5 with the empty bar as a complete novice to anything athletic save for yoga and taking the dog on hearty hikes. I didn't add weight every workout, but every 3-4 workouts, probably because I wasn't eating enough/didn't trust myself without a proper rack. But I still enjoyed progression and built strength up to these work sets of the primary exercises: 95 lb squat, 72 lb bench, 145 lb deadlift, 60 lb press, 2 unassisted pullups.

On Apr. 11, I bought the Starting Strength book and delved into the forums, deloading so I could make form adjustments. I had been having trouble with blood sugar and weakness while lifting, posting about it here: http://startingstrength.com/resource...ad.php?t=31243 I've been eating more calories and more carbs around the workout which seems to work. (A blood test does show my blood sugar running slightly lower than normal on a regular basis.)

On Jun. 18, I had the great fortune of meeting with Sullydog for a consultation—my first real experience with outside help. I'm truly grateful, and excited to learn and progress with his guidance!

Finally, it's Jun. 24 and I have a new squat rack in pieces in the basement, ready to be assembled.

- - - - -

Update 12/10/2012 Shifted from SS to 5/3/1
    Last edited by fleurmonstre; 12-29-2012 at 04:44 PM. Reason: programming update

Squat
    45x5x2
    55x3
    65x2
    70x2
    80x3x3

Videos of squat work sets: