starting strength gym

Thread: Deadlift Check - 260 lbs

Default Deadlift Check - 260 lbs

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    This is my first time posting a deadlift form check. I'm a little disappointed that my back wasn't as flat as I thought it was. The bar also got way out in front on rep 5. My squat is catching up to my deadlift so I have a feeling I'm doing something wrong.

Your back is rounded, though not horribly so. Good call on seeking advice.

In this humble man's opinion (feel free to correct me, guys), your hips' starting point might be a few inches high - however, although lowering them will help, the most useful cue for you will be to lift your chest (draw from the "Superman Cue" in the book), so that its midpoint is facing a little more forward rather than down, which it appears to be in your videos. It'll almost feel like your chest is rotating a bit between your shoulders. It's also important to note that you need to fight hard to constrict your back into a flat position - you'll have to work until you feel a complete tension from your upper back to your lumbar, and it can be a bitch at first.

Farewell makes a good point about your need to really squeeze your chest up harder. It also looks like your shoulders are father forward from the bar than we normally see.

Quote Originally Posted by BareSteel View Post
    It also looks like your shoulders are father forward from the bar than we normally see.
    Yep. I had the exact issue earlier this year. He's setting up just a little too close to the bar which means the shoulders are too forward and hips a little too high, together these make it even harder than it ought to be to get and maintain back extension. Also explains the bar drifting forward on later reps.