starting strength gym

Thread: Lowbar Squat Form Check Episode 2

Default Lowbar Squat Form Check Episode 2

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    • starting strength seminar april 2025
    Hey, newbie here

posted last week a form check thread, got some really helpful responses, figured I'd ask you guys again if I managed to improve anything, and if not, what I'm still doing wrong

here's the form video
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hbJvJmbDyIg
    I was thinking that maybe I go too deep?
    Last edited by Moregnan; 04-07-2015 at 10:58 AM.

Can't get a glimpse of the knee angle from this view, but it looks fairly solid. Head neutral/eyes down, not too much forward/backward knee travel, hip drive looks decent in most reps. If I were to be nit-picky, I'd say you're actually a little too deep for the low bar which is causing some lower back rounding and a closed knee angle. Try to keep your knees a little more steady (the movement I see looks like inconsistency and not repeated error). Use your warm up sets to ingrain the movement and stay tight. You could even slow down a little bit as the weight looks fairly light.

Quote Originally Posted by darowe View Post
    Can't get a glimpse of the knee angle from this view, but it looks fairly solid. Head neutral/eyes down, not too much forward/backward knee travel, hip drive looks decent in most reps. If I were to be nit-picky, I'd say you're actually a little too deep for the low bar which is causing some lower back rounding and a closed knee angle. Try to keep your knees a little more steady (the movement I see looks like inconsistency and not repeated error). Use your warm up sets to ingrain the movement and stay tight. You could even slow down a little bit as the weight looks fairly light.