starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Deadlift form check with video

Default Deadlift form check with video

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    • starting strength seminar april 2025
    Hi,

I'm a deadlift newbie, can you please review my deadlift form with 60 KG?.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLKJNxwxqys

Two things I've noticed:

1) I kept my back neutral only in the first few reps, after those reps it got a little rounded.
    Is it too rounded or it's actually OK?, could it be that this roundness is actually my natural back position?, I really try hard to keep it neutral throughout the entire movement (lifting the chest up) how can i improve this if it's necessary?.

2) My feet raises up and outwards when i pull the bar from the floor.
    I know that when pulling, I need to push the floor away with my midfoot, but my feet still raises up even when i'm doing that. Any suggestions? (I have a low arched feet if it matters).

Thanks .

Let me begin by welcoming you. Some people get offended when we respond to them. I hope you will take my comments seriously as an attempt to answer your question. I must first know a few things. Have you read the basic books? If you have you have not understood them and you may get pissed at what we say. If you haven't you need to do so. If you are serious about lifting and don't wish to hurt yourself and/or get discouraged follow the plan.

1. Your hips are way too low. They should be almost parallel to the floor.
    2. Don't lift with your back. Lift with your legs and hips.
    3. Don't raise your head.
    4. Get proper shoes.

That's for a starter. The weight looks light for you but if you follow the program and use proper SS technique you will be lifting increasingly heavier weights and do them safely.

Welcome to the forum.

1. You can get your back flatter than that on all your reps. Regardless, show us a heavy set of five next time.