starting strength gym
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Heavy imbalances, desperate noob

Default Heavy imbalances, desperate noob

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hi guys, this question is a bit spread across a few forums worth of content, so sorry in advance.

Stats:
    Weight: 153
    Squat: as high as 185x5 and currently 65x5 (no not kidding)
    Bench: 165x5
    Dead: 315x5
    OHP: 95x5
    Pendlay Row: 155*5

First off, a bit of history. I am a 20 year old trainee, who did 6 months of modified SS, so in advance no, I didn't do the program, and I don't blame any of my problems on the program. Here's my issue: I cannot squat or OHP for my life. my lifts aside from these progressed as normal, and everything was going great, except I could not make squat progress, and my OHP stalled out at 95 pounds for 5 after 4 resets. I'm wondering what could explain me being intermediate in the deadlift, bench, and pendlay row, while being stuck at untrained in the OHP and the Squat.

(sidenotes, my squat is 65 pounds for a set of 5 because i experience horrible adductor pain while nearing the hole, despite following Rip's advice of straightening the toes, widening the stance, etc...)

So basically this revolves around me being stuck because all of my form checks ive posted among a few forums have all said my form was fine. i push my knees out, keep my stance wide and my toes more forwards to get my adductors a bit more slack, and everything should be fine, but i still get adductor pain like nobodies business, and cant lift anything more than baby weight. also im marginally concerned about my OHP, but not nearly as much. I had a full rotator cuff tear, and that arm doesnt support the weight of the opposite, so i expect slow progress

anyways, thanks for the help

Stop thinking, go eat something.

Quote Originally Posted by Frankie View Post