starting strength gym

Thread: Need ideas for new long term training goal

Default Need ideas for new long term training goal

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I started lifting/SS in 2011 at 47 and set a long term goal of a 1200 lb. judged PL total. It took until this summer, but now that I made it (setting and making annual goals along the way), I'm not sure what to set my sights on next.

A 2 day per week training schedule works well for my parenting/job commitments and the last year only put 40lbs on my total, so I'm not sure advanced programming (to get to 1250+) is realistic. My wife says she's not interested in "abs" and fussy eating, so a bodybuilding program is out. Maintenance doesn't seem like much of a goal.

Anyone had a similar progression and come up with/stumbled into a good goal they'd like to share? If it matters, I'm 52 now, 215 walking around, 6'0".

Quote Originally Posted by johnnys View Post
    a long term goal of a 1200 lb. judged PL total
    I take it that if your total has been judged, then you are competing? If you are indeed competing, don't you find that that provides sufficient motivation to set your sights just a little higher for the next meet? I say this because your total is very good and could get you into some fun competitions.

I started lifting/SS in 2011 at 47 and set a long term goal of a 1200 lb. judged PL total. It took until this summer, but now that I made it (setting and making annual goals along the way), I'm not sure what to set my sights on next.

A 2 day per week training schedule works well for my parenting/job commitments and the last year only put 40lbs on my total, so I'm not sure advanced programming (to get to 1250+) is realistic. My wife says she's not interested in "abs" and fussy eating, so a bodybuilding program is out. Maintenance doesn't seem like much of a goal.