starting strength gym

Thread: Programming Questions

Default Programming Questions

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Mark:

I have SS and PP. I have started your beginners program, adding weighted chins/pullups to the end of the workout. A workout usually takes about 1.5 hours, and some days this is a problem to find this much time in a single block. How does it effect the program if I split it into AM/PM workouts, i.e. squats & deads/cleans for one, presses/benches & pullups/chinups for the other? Also, is it a problem to do the "legs" workout second?

On the off days (T-Th), I have been doing L-hangs/GHD situps and grip work, along with moderate/high intensity interval work (500m rows, 3min rounds on the heavy bag, or sprints if it warms up). I know this will slow my gains down some, but I am a police officer and need the metabolic conditioning. I have been doing Crossfit for two years so I am probably fairly well adapted to this type of training. My second question is: would you recommend the intervals or just whatever random Crossfit workouts come up for the week (leaving out the heavier weighted workouts)?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

First, if you want to split the workout, it's fine. It will not adversely affect anything.

Second, if you need the met/con, do it. The fact that you are adapted to it quite well should mean that you could reduce its volume for a while to get your strength up without have a radical reduction in performance. Too much met/con will interfere with your ability to recover while you grow, so you'll need to decide about priorities based on your personal situation.

Kaipo,