starting strength gym

Thread: Form and Overtraining

Default Form and Overtraining

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024

Just got introduced Starting Strength quite recently by various youtubers, and I want to see if it could work on me. I've been lifting using compound barbell movements for about a year now on-and-off, and I decided to get serious about getting stronger since I'm a 5'7" 155 lbs loser.

Two simple questions:
    Is my form about right? I know I'm probably going to low, but otherwise, I'd like to know if my squat form is passable, at least.
    I've been stalling at this weight for a week, along with the press and bench at 100 lbs and 155 lbs respectively. I got sick with a cold. Am I overtraining, or am I being a wuss?

I am fairly new to SS, going through my LP right now.

Regarding overtraining-you haven't. In college I did an incredibly high volume, 4-5 day a week Russian program for 4-6 weeks, followed by a bench every day program for a month.
    Literally every moment I was not in the gym, at work, or at school I was asleep. At least 6000 calories a day and i still couldn't handle it. I ended up entirely losing my appetite, getting sick, and getting very, very tired, all the time. It took 2-3 months for my appetite to come back.

Nothing that I did was wise, but it did teach me what overtraining feels like.

Thanks for the info. I'll get to lifting then.

I’m no expert, but to me, your squat looks rock solid.

You weigh 155, your 3x5 bench is also 155. For your bodyweight, I believe this isn’t bad at all. Also, your squat is more than 1.5 x your body weight for 3x5.

The cold very well may have effected it, or you may be reaching your strength potential on LP at you current body weight.