starting strength gym
Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Training for a whole year

Default Training for a whole year

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I have been training on and off for nearly six years. Each time I make good progress, something comes up that challenges my ability to remain consistent, and I have allowed myself to get too derailed too many times. As I have just turned 35, I am realizing more and more that I need to cement training permanently into my lifestyle.

This log is the starting point, and it is where I will document my progress as I attempt to train consistently for an entire year. I'll be starting with Novice Linear Progression programming.

I restarted my training efforts about 4 weeks ago but am just returning from a 10 day vacation at the beach. I don't intend to include the last few weeks of training as it's really just been me re-learning the lifts and getting back to decent weights.

So today was the first day. Only 364 more to go. For now, I am also going to target 3 workouts per week or a total of 156. Only 155 to go.

Today's workout:

Squat
    215x5x3

Press
    115x5x3

Deadlift
    315x5

These were a 10% reset from pre-vacation lifts. Wednesday will be some 10 lb jumps to get back to where I was prior to vacation.
    Last edited by Eric Schexnayder; 07-24-2023 at 07:59 PM.

Inadvertently deleted yesterday's post.

Day 3, 362 days remaining
    2/2 workouts, 2/156 total

Squat
    225x5x3

Bench Press
    165x5x3

Deadlift
    325x5

Squats were a breeze. Adding 10 lbs next time. Bench a little rough, need to invest in a rubber mat for my plywood platform. Deadlifts were hard; fifth rep went up but then slowed dramatically at the knees. Had to really grind through it.

Exhausting day at work.

Friday will add 5 lbs to both Press and Deadlift. Power Cleans back on Monday.

Day 5, 360 remaining

3/3, 3/156 workouts