starting strength gym

Thread: Squat form check

Default Squat form check

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    So I have been doing SS for about four months. I just took my squat to 300lb before stalling (again). The first video is 1x5 @ 300lb. I have been really beat up and was having moderately severe knee pain and couldn't manage another set. So I decided to listen to my body and take another de load week and ask you good people for a form check. The second video is the frist day of the deload week doing 1x5 @ 185. I had a very slight knee pain that didn't appear until the third set and dissapated after 10 - 15 min. On the deload set I tried to open my groin up a little to get depth and focus on not letting my knees track to far forward on the bottom part of the squat. Any help is greatly appreciated.

3 9 17@300 - YouTube
    3 11 17@185 - YouTube

Those reps at 185 were too deep.

300*5 had lots of knee slide and not enough depth.

Quote Originally Posted by JoeJ View Post
    Those reps at 185 were too deep.

300*5 had lots of knee slide and not enough depth.
    Thanks for your reply. Do you have any advice for knowing when you have hit the appropriate depth?

Quote Originally Posted by mstringer06 View Post
    Thanks for your reply. Do you have any advice for knowing when you have hit the appropriate depth?
    Somewhere between the depth of 185 and 300 videos.

Hips below knees. Getting your knees under control will help greatly.

I'm also struggling with keeping my knees not going forward that much. At one point I also got knee pain.

What I have been trying to focus on is shoving my hips as far back as possible when going down. Because the hips are further back the knees don't go that far forward. But that means your chest has to go lower to keep the bar in the center.