starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Asymmetrical Squat Bar

Default Asymmetrical Squat Bar

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi there,
    I have been squatting for several years now, mostly high bar. Only about two months now, when I started reading and going on the Starting Strength program did I switch to low-bar squats. At the same time, I had read a neat trick in the book about dealing with an uncentred and unleveled bar. Problems which I have had for many years now with my squats, but gave up trying to fix, because I believed it was unfixable. I was thrilled when I found out and tested that just taking an asymmetrical grip put the bar closer to the centre again (but not perfectly yet).

The problem I have now is that, as my squats weight have been getting heavier I've begun to notice that because my asymmetrical grip comes with a downside. That is, because I keep my right arm further out. My shelf on that side is not as prominent, and weight can begin to slip or bear down more on my arms on that side. Furthermore, despite the better centred bar, it still not perfectly centre, and I'm not sure how far I should go with an asymmetrical grip before it is too ridiculous and unsafe. Furthermore, I find that the left side of the bar is higher than my right side, which should have been fixed with the asymmetrical grip but it is still present.

In summary, my questions are:
    1. How far should I go with the asymmetrical grip, before its too much?