starting strength gym

Thread: Form Check - Squat

Default Form Check - Squat

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hi, New here, I'm big Fan of StartingStrengthRadio!

Started my LP 8 weeks ago 33yo, 185lbs, 5 foot 10, Weight gain =15lbs since starting

Looking for some help with my squat, I'm new to low bar squatting, Wondering where I can make improvements and what I may be doing wrong.
    Currently struggling with leaning forwards, but working on it, I tend to lean into my right knee, and sometimes feel some very mild discomfort after squatting

Work Set 3, 5 reps, 107.5kg/237lbs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8XejLNmkrAo
    Thanks in advance!

Your knees and hips are too far forward. To keep the bar in balance while you lean over, your hips need to go back. A TUBOW or similar object in front of your toe will help: don't let your knees drift ahead of your toes.

Once this is fixed, widen your stance a shade and drive your knees out HARD. Really lean over: point your nipples at the floor.

High bar. Your rack setting may be too high. I noticed you go on your toes to rerack. But you were also a mile away from the rack when doing so which is also a bad idea. Walk forward and hit the uprights, then lower. Wrists are incorrect, which is to do with your high bar position.

Welcome, Hanson. I see your weight shifting around forward and backward on your feet. You want them firm and even: Understanding the Master Cue | Mark Rippetoe

Notice that your slowing down on the way up and your looking forward coincide. Pick a low spot and fix your gaze on it. When it feels harder, make yourself keep the gaze DOWN and shove your hips up. An object or a chalk mark on the deck can help with this.