starting strength gym

Thread: Novice program with no bench and deadlift, Bill Starr inspired

Default Novice program with no bench and deadlift, Bill Starr inspired

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello everyone, thank you for your advice in advance. I would like to know your input on dropping the bench and deadlift and focusing on the squat, press, power clean. I like the idea of sticking to three main exercises like in Bills Starr’s program, but I like the idea of 3x5 advocates by SS. So I was thinking something like:
    Squat:3x5
    Press:3x5
    PowerClean:3x3
    Repeating this every workout(obviously I will eventually have to make advanced novice changes like light squats, etc.)I will do some benching as an assistance exercises on the heavy day of an HLM when I’m an intermediate, but now as a novice i like the idea of just focusing on the press and power clean. I know you guys are gonna say it’s bad that I’m not benching and deadlifting, but Starr has obviously had success with this kind of approach so so it’s not that bad. What I really want to know though is how should I go about progressing. We squat and add weight every workout, so I don’t see why not for the press and power clean too. Should I add 1-2 pounds per workout?

Btw I’m using the Olympic/layback style press to press more weight than usual.

What's your rationale for doing this instead of a proven method for novice progression beyond "I like the idea of sticking to three main exercises like in Bills Starr’s program?" You're not providing enough information. Age/height/weight and training history + current lifts would go a long way towards making this sound less haphazardly planned. Have you actually tried doing the program as prescribed? If not, why not? If so, what were your results and what made you think about trying this approach?