starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lifts for 45 year old woman

Default Lifts for 45 year old woman

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hey all, I have been following the SS training since January 2011.

Female 45 years old, 5'10, 150lbs.
    Squat 3x5 125lbs
    Press 3x5 50lbs
    Deadlift 1x5 175lbs
    Bench Press 3x5 75 lbs

My form is good, does this weight sound at least respectable?
    I am thinking of switching to Wendler 5-3-1 seems like squatting 3 times a week with SS is really breaking me down. Maybe heavy squatting once a week is best, any advice on this, I am a novice.

Thanks in advance.

Well Done! Always good to see a woman that is training the right way. I wish I would see some at my gym, too.

As for your squats: The usual first step would be to introduce a light squat workout on Wednesday (if you train Mon/Wed/Fri). This should allow you further linear progress for some time, and 5/3/1 would not be required at this stage.

Front squats on Wed is another alternative, although I never liked it.

Also, you could choose to squat 2x week only, and skip Wednesday's squats completely..

Try and see what works best for you. Good luck and keep on the good work!

Your numbers look fine. If squatting heavy 3 times a week is too much (and it usually will be for an older person), then the first thing you should do is make Wednesday a light squat day. Removing squats completely on Wednesday will be less effective for recovery. Front squats aren't a great idea either, because they are such a significant quadriceps workout.