starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What to look for in a strength coach

Default What to look for in a strength coach

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    What makes a good coach? I am asking because I'm thinking of getting one at the place where I train, a black-iron gym much like WFAC.

FYI, I'm an experienced novice strength trainer and I need coaching on the low-bar squat and the power clean.

The fellow I'm gearing toward is a powerlifter, 30 something y/o male, former marine, doctorate in a political science field (?), owner of the the gym. He's quite, keeps to himself and from what I've seen, is a low-bar squatter. Looks like his clients are happy with him too.

My advice from personal experice: only buy one session at first and evaluate the coach after you've trained with them.
    It really is a kick in the nuts when you negotiate some great discount on 12 sessions and realize your trainer is an idiot on the first one.

The real advice though is to find someone who is going to COACH you, not TRAIN you. Trainers take a template and make you follow it, coaches build the template around you.
    It's probably going to be hard enough to find a coach that will agree with the majority of the stuff you're doing in SS, but they don't have to agree with everything if they are smart enough to understand what you are doing and work the program around your goals, weaknesses, strengths etc.
    If you get some trainer who is going to try and make you follow some pre-set template then he is exactly opposite of what a coach is, he is a cheerleader there to read a list to you.
    Last edited by Corrie; 10-05-2012 at 01:44 PM.

Thank you, Corrie.

1. How they communicate with you. You don't want someone who coddles you, nor do you want someone who puts you down. Can they get their idea across easily, or is it a hard effort to make you understand?