starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Why do people like to use racks constructed with 3x3 tube?

Question Why do people like to use racks constructed with 3x3 tube?

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Whether you want 3x3 or 2x2 the gauge is the same. I am not an engineer (IANAE) but is there a meaningful difference structurally? Looks like Dan Green does all his work in a 2x2. In general 2x2 racks have better hole spacing and you get an extra inch on each side of the collars to play with if you're a big dawg and like a wide grip. I also like the slimmer lines aesthetically on the 2x2. And they're about $500 cheaper. That's a lot of advantages for me. So is there any reason to buy a 3x3 or is this just a gimmick to sell more steel?

Cuz that shit better be bomb proof for maximum eliteness

Edit: and torque

With my weights, I could probably get by with 1x1, and fat stack the benjies.

You forgot to mention 7 gauge vs 11 gauge. The superficial answer is because 3x3 7 ga racks are fucking awesome. The actual answer is more nuanced than that.

In general, drop-in racks are all 3x3. This has to do with the room required for the slotted steel. The answer for the smaller racks was the swing-in safety. The drop-in is still superior, but the difference is much smaller between drop-in vs swing-in than it is in drop-in vs sabers/pin&pipe.

As to spacing, I think 1" spacing is a pain in the ass. 2" throughout is optimal. This is easier to accomplish with standard holes as seen on most 2x2 and 2x3 racks. Most 3x3 drop-ins are either 3" or 4" spacing. Some, like my Nebula, have 2" throughout via creative construction methods. The best option is actually Rae Crowther and their off-set 1.5" spacing via tear-drop holes. Genius.