starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starr weighs in on Olympic Weightlifting

Default Starr weighs in on Olympic Weightlifting

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024

Maybe it's because I'm new to this whole lifting-heavy-things thing, but it seems so silly to even have to say it. We've all muscled through a poorly performed lift and seen that strength can overcome poor technique.

Another thought I had is that there is an absolute limit to technique. You could, theoretically, achieve perfect technique and never have to work on it again in your life. Strength, on the other hand, is an adaptation that can continue to be pushed until you are too old and start to regress. It makes no sense to me that one would ever stop striving for absolute strength gains.

And finally, the thought that I always come back to when I am faced with this debate: one cannot clean what one cannot deadlift. I'm not sure how you can make it any simpler than that.

Simple and obvious, right? Yet here is an example of modern thought regarding the subject: http://startingstrength.com/resource...580#post499580

"His autobiography, Russian Bear: Journey to Mr. America is a most delightful read and is available through Amazon."

I thought Starr was technophobe.

Another nice logical article.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    Simple and obvious, right? Yet here is an example of modern thought regarding the subject: http://startingstrength.com/resource...580#post499580