starting strength gym
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Exercise science degree info check

Default Exercise science degree info check

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    So I'm in 3rd year exercise science and I thought I might make a thread where I could question some of the content that opposes the starting strength model.

1. Human's are designed for sustained moderate intensity exercise (walking jogging etc.) because our bipedal gait is suited for endurance. The lecturer than used the Kalahari bushmen's persistence hunt as an example of why endurance is best from an evolutionary view (video below).

I'm not sure how to refute the argument of endurance is best when put into an evolutionary context. Can anyone clarify?

Human Mammal, Human Hunter - Attenborough - Life of Mammals - BBC - YouTube

2. As far as the heart goes we are told eccentric hypertrophy (an endurance adaptation) is healthy but concentric hypertrophy (a strength adaptation) can be dangerous (diagram below). Is this true? Would it explain why I had a max heart rate (207) above my age predicted one (199).

http://bachperformance.com/wp-conten...5/02/heart.png

Thank you.

1. I'll leave this silliness to others.

2. A few resources I came across recently:
    See Chapter 12 HERE:

Chronic exposure to resistance training can alter the morphology of the heart. In the past, some structural changes seen among those with consistent resistance training experience were misconstrued as maladaptations similar to those resulting from chronic hypertension. More recent data, however, have demonstrated that the morphological changes following resistance training are similar to those found with aerobic exercise and not those associated with pathological left ventricular hypertrophy.