starting strength gym

Thread: Help me fix these back issues in my deadlift.

Default Help me fix these back issues in my deadlift.

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I have been trying to follow the steps for "The Perfect Deadlift" but I'm not getting there. Just check out this video of me deadlifting 225x4 I was going for 5 and help me fix my back.

First, I'm still a novice as well, and this is my first time trying to "give" advice, so take it with a grain of salt.

There's a step in the "perfect deadlift" sequence where it says to bend your knees until your shins touch the bar after you take your grip. It doesn't look like you are doing this adequately. The bar is moving a lot at the bottom, which is a big no-no. Once you get it over the mid-foot and your shins are in position, don't let it move.

Following that, we need to eradicate the big hump in your back. Your gaze is somewhat hard to see because of that sun glare, but it's clear that you aren't actively lifting the chest as much as you should be. There should be no slack between your chest, shoulders, arms, and the bar before you lift. Everything should be taught and stretched. If you try to do these things without lowering your hips at all, your back should straighten out. One of the experts should be able to help you more than I can.

Finally, when you pull, your bar path is going out almost as much as it is going up. You have to scrape your shins with the bar in order to pull it vertically. The "reverse-c" shaped path you're using also contributes to that rounded back.

I would advise paying close attention to your setup and actively try to "flatten" your back by raising the chest before you pull. Once you have visual confirmation of that, initiate the pull by scraping your shins with the bar.

I'm learning these lifts from the book too, and based on what I've read I can offer the following advice: