starting strength gym

Thread: Career advice from those working in fitness/medical industries please

Smile Career advice from those working in fitness/medical industries please

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I wasn't really sure where to ask this, so I'm sorry if this isn't the proper place. I just didn't want my question to get lost in the madness that is often Ends & Pieces.

I've wanted to get involved in the fitness industry for a long time and have been forcing myself to study the (99% absolute bullshit) materials for a personal trainer certification. Lately though, I've been gravitating toward a desire to work with older/geriatric clients, and being able to actually improve their quality of life. I'm not really sure what the best way/career to do this is, though. Do I get a certification and wait a few years and learn more and specialize when I have some experience? Get a degree in exercise biology or something related? Become a physiotherapist with knowledge of strength training? If anyone has any advice on where to go with this, I would really appreciate it.

Not career advice, but may be of interest to you if you haven't seen it. Pretty interesting article.
    http://startingstrength.com/index.ph...aining_seniors

The author keeps her log on here so you could ping her about it via PM or something ( http://startingstrength.com/resource...ad.php?t=28028 )

I'm not in the field, but i'll just point out the obvious that (at least in the US, but i think most places) physical therapists are much much more credentialed than strength coaches/physical trainers and thus have more privileges and get paid more and are respected by the rest of the establishment (doctors, insurance companies, patients, etc. ) (That many of them are perhaps not very good at some things is another issue). Of course you have to go to school and jump through hoops to get those credentials and certifications.