starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Nick's SS Log

Default Nick's SS Log

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi. I've been lurking on these forums for a while. I've only been logging my training in a spreadsheet (and recently on fitocracy for the cool graphs) and I'm at the point in my LP where shit is getting real and I could probably use some community feedback/support to keep me from screwing everything up.

About me: Male, 28, 5'6", ~200 lb, Brooklyn. I've been lifting for about a year and a half. Before that I was a crossfitter for a few months (and 150 pounds), which was my introduction to barbell training and olympic weightlifting. Before that I was a casual runner / elliptical user. And before that I was completely sedentary, weak, and sad.

This is my third go at Starting Strength since I started lifting, and I'm determined to see my novice LP through to intermediate programming so that I'm not ever left wondering how far I could have gotten on SS. My overall goal is to not be a weakling and to use my training as an exercise in self discipline, which I lack. And I have a few friends from the local lifting community here whose logs I lurk and I'd like to be more in touch with them.

I started my current SS cycle in late December, after a long break from back squatting (strained QL). After lots of PT and massage, my QL pain is really diminished and I think squatting has actually made things even better. I'm currently doing pretty well in my progression and setting PRs on all of my lifts.

I lift on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays at about 2pm each day. I've found that lifting at a big box gym near my office/home has helped a lot with my consistency. The gyms have squat racks & bumper plates, and some even have platforms and olympic bars (which are usually beat up, but work). And the steam rooms/whirlpools are nice.

Starting lifts