starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rotator Cuff issue (sorry I know it must be laborious to you Rip)

Default Rotator Cuff issue (sorry I know it must be laborious to you Rip)

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Rip, for the last couple of months I've been having an issue with my right shoulder. I've just taken three weeks off from lifting and it seems to have gotten much better, although the pain is still there...

- Age, Gender, current training status

25 male, I've been doing SS since 2010, did SS, and I'm now on texas method.

- Chief Complaint

Pain in right shoulder when I have my palms facing behind me and push, for example pushing my palm back against a wall. I also get pain in my shoulder when a bar with any decent weight on it is resting on my back in the squat position, although I've not tried this for three weeks.

- Narrative describing the mechanism of injury: In your own words, explain what happened, what you were doing, where it hurt, how long has it been since you first injured it.

about ten weeks ago I started to feel slight discomfort in my right shoulder. This would be on the recovery day after squatting heavy 5x5 on my volume day. I decided to work through it because the pain was really rather minimal. fast forward two weeks, I again managed to do my 5x5 volume day, but when it came to my 1x5 intensity, the pain in the warmup sets was much higher, to the point where getting the loaded bar on my back (205kg's) was agony, as soon the pain stopped as soon as the bar was settled however and I made my set.

I decided to take the next week off, because I've had minor rotator cuff injuries before and I know with rest they should correct themselves. I took a week off with copious menthol rubbing and light shoulder dislocations.