starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: No progression on bench anymore

Default No progression on bench anymore

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi.

I'm male 40 years old, weight about 198lbs, length 6feet 2inches. I've been weight-training since january 2011.

My currently best lifts are:
    Dead: 308x5
    Press:143x3
    Bench: 198x3
    Squat: 176x5 (haven't been doing squats so long due to ruptured ligaments in the knee)

I've been doing 5/3/1 (with 3-5 assistance excercises per workout) for 11 cycles now but been "struggling" with my bench for a time now, I've filmed it and the form isn't so bad (in my eyes) ALTHOUGH there is obviously LOT of areas to IMPROVE in the lift.

My goal is a 220 bench which should'nt be impossible, but now it seems far away. An example of bench day is as follows:

Warmup
    Bench 5/3/1
    Bench with pause at chest
    Dumbbell Bench 5 sets of 10 reps
    Triceps extensions
    Abs

Any suggestions of what to change / think of to be able to reach my goals? Should mention that when I started 5/3/1 my bench test max was 176x5.

Thanks in advance.

Weight gain will help. But also..........I would be doing a higher volume of sets that are 5 reps or more, and you might choose to increase bench frequency. I would drop the DB Benches for 5x10. I don't think you are at a point where this is gonna help much. 531 program doesn't work for a lot because of the low volume of actual strength work.

I'd rather see you doing something like 3-5x5 on Tuesday and then 3 singles across on a Friday. I think doing that, you get yourself up to 225.