starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fake breasts help your bench - lessons from my first PL meet

Default Fake breasts help your bench - lessons from my first PL meet

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I competed in my first meet on Saturday. It was the BDFPA Eastern Counties Divisional Championships.

I loved it and learnt a lot, so wanted to share. If you’re toying with the idea of entering a meet but aren’t sure – just do it. It’s awesome!

Here are the ten things I learnt. By definition, I am no expert – these are just my thoughts and others may disagree:

1. Everyone’s a winner: There were 45 lifters there. Aged from 18 to 70. There were girls weighing under 40kgs, and guys three times that. Every one of them got cheered, applauded and supported on every lift. The respect you get from having the balls to step up and publically test yourself is incredible. The toughest, grindiest reps were cheered loudest of all. The atmosphere is electric. I train alone in my garage so getting out amongst other lifters and supporters was just awesome.
    2. Powerlifting is a family sport: I took my 14 month old daughter. Having her toddle into the warm-up area to give me a hug after my PR squat was amazing (she was wearing a “My Daddy is Stronger than your Daddy” t-shirt as well. Pretty sweet!) My mate brought his 4 year old son to watch - later that night he was lying on his kitchen floor practicing his bench press technique.
    3. Powerlifting might be the ultimate no-bullshit sport: Anyone can brag about what they can lift in the gym or down the pub. No-one was bragging in the warm-up area. Oh, you can squat 250kgs? Great, the bar will tell us the truth in 5 minutes time. There’s no point bragging – the bar will find you out soon enough.