starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Inspecting homemade squat rack/power cage?

Default Inspecting homemade squat rack/power cage?

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hey Everyone -

(I hope this is the right place for this... it looked like other equipment threads were posted in the Training section.)

I've been lifting for about 3 years now, and am looking at buying a squat rack so I can workout at home. I recently found this one for sale, and would appreciate any tips on how to assess how well it's built. It looks sturdy, is well priced, and it's general structure matches what I'm looking for ... but it's "homemade" so I want to make sure I'm not buying a death trap.

Here's what I know about the rack, based on the original ad and my texts with the seller. I haven't seen it in person yet.

• Built of 3" x 1.5" C channel steel
    • Dimensions: 89" tall x 32.5" deep x 46" wide
    • The sides are welded into a single piece, but the cross beams are bolted together
    • Seller has referred to it as "custom made" and "homemade" so I don't know if he built it or had it built for him
    • Seller called it "rugged" but also "never went heavy" on it, so he couldn't tell me the max weights that it's held (though he was also selling 256lbs of plates, so I believe he wasn't really testing its durability)

The uprights look sturdy, but what should I look for when inspecting the welds or bolts?
    Are the safeties too thin?
    Any other thoughts?

For what it's worth, my 5RMs in lbs are 420 DL, 355 squat, 225 bench, to give you a sense of the weight I'd be using in it for the foreseeable future.

Thanks in advance for your feedback, folks.

00G0G_izDxfd6lQdy_600x450.jpg

The holes look too far apart for good adjustments of the pins, but it looks sturdy. Just check for cracked welds.