starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Very low calories but enough protein?

Default Very low calories but enough protein?

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Dear Mark Rippetoe

I started lifting around 6 months ago. I am 6ft and was 145lb when I started. I gained 20lb and am now 165lb. I am not sure how this happened but I put it down to newbie gains because I stopped gaining weight and wasn't even eating enough calories or protein to begin with (3500 calories per day is the most I got up to, and less than 1g of protein per lb of bodyweight).

However it was not just not eating enough. I did not know how to apply progressive overload, and was doing the same weights every session. You can imagine how relieved I was when I discovered about novice linear progression.

I am now at a point where I a highly motivated to start following a simple program that allows me to apply linear progression. I really like the Starting Strength program because of its simplicity and it is probably the one I will follow.